The God Box


Author: Lori Carter

I can’t really remember where the idea came from, but it works. It’s called the God box and I started making them with instructions and giving them as gifts. It is really simple to do and you will be surprised at the results.

It goes along with “give it to God”. When you have a special prayer about something you cannot solve or take care of yourself, you give it God and wait on his answer. He always answers in what is the best way, even if we don’t see it as the answer we want.

I have used the God box several times in my life, and it works. It is symbolic of releasing those things to God that only he can take care of. Humans have a bad habit of giving something to God, and then later on taking it back to try and solve, because they lack the patience to wait on God.

Here is how to do this. It really is quite simple. Find a nice box, or even a plain one. Write “God Box” on the outside. When you are praying about something that you need God’s help or need him to handle, simple write on a piece of paper and put in the box. Simply tell him as you place this in the box that you are releasing this to him.

Now walk away, put it out of your mind. Go back in a month or two and you will surprised at the prayers he has already answered, some you may have even forgot you put in there. The first time I tried this, I had a lot of pieces of paper in there. I set it aside, forgot about actually, and ran across it about a month later while I was cleaning.

I opened my God box and started looking through the things I had given to him to take care of. Some of them I had forgotten all about. I was shocked to see that almost every piece of paper in this box, with needs and prayers on them, were solved. I had not noticed because everyday life was so busy, and I had actually been able to “give it to God” completely.

Do you have prayers that need to be answered? Do you have situations and problems that are beyond your capabilities to solve? Put them in the God box, release them and actually give them to God. If you can’t find a nice box, an empty Kleenex box, and empty drawer, even an old butter tub will work. The main idea is to completely turn these things over to God, walk away and let him do his work.

Philippians 4:19: And this same God who takes care of me will supply all your needs from his glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus.

Matthew 21:22: And whatever things you ask in prayer, believing, you will receive.

John 15:7: If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, you will ask what you desire, and it shall be done for you

Be Blessed, Lori

GOD IS GOD ALL THE TIME. GOD IS GOOD ALL THE TIME. ALL THE TIME GOD IS GOOD

About lorisarticles

Just a little woman in Missouri who loves to write, loves gardening and reading and loves her sweetie, Rich

3 thoughts on “The God Box

  1. Lori, what a lovely and inspiring article. My Mom kept a God Box and after she died, I found not one, but 10 God Boxes filled with 20 years of everything Mom ever prayed for…family, friends, strangers. I just wrote a book about it called “The God Box, Sharing my Mother’s gift of faith, love and letting go. ” I hope you might like it. My best, Mary Lou Quinlan

Leave a Reply

